The building that houses the Olive Grove and Oil Museum of Baena was a mill owned by José Alcalá Santaella up until 1959.
The museum is also the headquarters of the Cofradia de Amigos del Olivo de Baena [Brotherhood]. Most of the machinery in the mill dates back to the middle of the 19th century.
During each olive harvest, a group of three millers worked in this mill, processing two or three thousand kilos per day, gathered from the olive groves in the areas of el Chitajillo and Vela. Currently, the museum boasts an exhibition area of over 800 m2, distributed over two floors.
The Museum has carried out various activities, for example: informative activities, training and cultural activities, ecological olive growing courses, oil tasting, conferences and exhibitions, etc.
Near Olive Grove and Oil Museum
Add to planner
Category: MuseumC/ Cañada, 7